Baby Steps

I stumbled upon waking up this morning, studied for Waco Tours, went to training, made a few more friends, came home, ate lunch and packed lunch for Vic, biked to the studio, designed, went to SI, came home, relaxed and now I’m going to bed. Goodnight. 

Something that really grabs me about my training experience at my new job is the amount of dedication they have toward engineering your experience as a guest, and then the further dedication they have toward shaping you as a tour guide. It feels like they’re genuinely invested in your well-being, and they only find reasons to encourage you and to push you forward. If something isn’t working, they find other ways of making it work or move onto something else. They push you to do the best that you can do, and not the way that anybody else can do them.

David said something in our training today that almost made me cry. Heather was talking about the importance of mentioning the ethnicity of the cowboys on the bronze steer by the suspension bridge; African American, Caucasian, and Hispanic. He said,

“You know, 40% of the Waco population is Hispanic, so it would be preposterous not to mention it.”

David Koskela

I just wanted to point out the fact that it really meant something to me.

Leave a comment